Link Search Menu Expand Document

Principles of Data Science

DSC 10, Fall 2022 at UC San Diego

Suraj Rampure
he/him

rampure@ucsd.eduLecture(s): C00 (MWF 1-1:50PM, PCYNH 122)

Puoya Tabaghi
he/him

ptabaghi@ucsd.eduLecture(s): D00 (MWF 12-12:50PM, PCYNH 120)

Janine Tiefenbruck
she/her

jlobue@ucsd.eduLecture(s): A00 (MWF 10-10:50AM, CSB 001), B00 (MWF 11-11:50AM, CSB 001)

Welcome to DSC 10! 👋 Get started by reading the syllabus.

Below, you can access lecture material in two ways:

  • By clicking the title of the lecture, which will open the lecture on DataHub, where we will run our code in this course. (More on this on Wednesday.)
  • By clicking ✏️, which will open the lecture as a static HTML page, which you can download as a PDF and annotate on your tablet.

Week 2

Mon Oct 3

LEC 5 DataFrames: Accessing, Sorting, and Querying

BPD 9-10

DIS 2 Python Basics, Arrays, and DataFrames

Tue Oct 4

HW 1 Causality and Basic Python

Wed Oct 5

LEC 6 More Queries and GroupBy

BPD 10-11

Fri Oct 7

LEC 7 Data Visualization

CIT 7, 7.1

Sat Oct 8

Lab 2 Arrays and DataFrames

Week 3

Mon Oct 10

LEC 8 Histograms and Overlaid Plots

CIT 7.2-7.3

DIS 3 Querying, Grouping, and Plotting

Tue Oct 11

HW 2 Arrays and DataFrames

Wed Oct 12

LEC 9 Functions and Apply

BPD 6, 12

Fri Oct 14

LEC 10 Grouping with Subgroups, Merge

BPD 11, 13

Sat Oct 15

Lab 3 Data Visualization and Python Functions

Week 4

Mon Oct 17

LEC 11 Booleans and Conditionals, Iteration

CIT 9.1-9.2

DIS 4 Functions, Subgroups, Merge, and Control Flow

Tue Oct 18

HW 3 Data Visualization and Python Functions

Wed Oct 19

LEC 12 Probability

CIT 9.5

Fri Oct 21

LEC 13 Simulation

CIT 9.3-9.4

Sat Oct 22

Lab 4 DataFrames, Control Flow, and Probability

Week 5

Mon Oct 24

LEC 14 Distributions and Sampling

CIT 10.0-10.4

DIS 5 Probability and Simulation

Tue Oct 25

HW 4 DataFrames, Control Flow, and Probability

Wed Oct 26

LEC 15 Hypothesis Testing

CIT 11.0-11.1

Fri Oct 28

Exam Midterm Exam (in class)

Week 6

Mon Oct 31

LEC 16 Hypothesis Testing, Continued

CIT 11.2-11.4

DIS 6 Midterm Solutions and Hypothesis Testing

Tue Nov 1

PROJ Midterm Project

Wed Nov 2

LEC 17 Permutation Testing

CIT 12.0-12.1

Fri Nov 4

LEC 18 Causality, Bootstrapping

CIT 12.2-13.2

Sat Nov 5

Lab 5 Simulation, Sampling, and Hypothesis Testing

Week 7

Mon Nov 7

LEC 19 Percentiles and Confidence Intervals

CIT 13.1-13.3

DIS 7 Hypothesis Testing and Permutation Testing

Tue Nov 8

HW 5 Simulation, Sampling, and Hypothesis Testing

Wed Nov 9

LEC 20 CIs for Hypothesis Testing, Center and Spread

CIT 13.4-14.2

Fri Nov 11

No Lecture (Veterans Day 🎖️)

Sat Nov 12

Lab 6 Resampling and the Bootstrap

Week 8

Mon Nov 14

LEC 21 Normal Curve

CIT 14.3-14.4

DIS 8 Permutation Testing and Bootstrapping

Tue Nov 15

HW 6 Permutation Testing, Percentiles, and Bootstrapping

Wed Nov 16

LEC 22 Central Limit Theorem

CIT 14.4-14.5

Fri Nov 18

LEC 23 Experiment Design

CIT 14.6

Sat Nov 19

Lab 7 Center, Spread, and the Normal Distribution

Week 9

Mon Nov 21

LEC 24 Prediction and Correlation

CIT 15, 15.1-15.2

DIS 9 Normal Curve and CLT

Tue Nov 22

HW 7 Confidence Intervals, Normal Distributions, and the CLT

Wed Nov 23

LEC 25 Regression and Least Squares

CIT 15.2-15.4

Fri Nov 25

No Lecture (Thanksgiving 🦃)

Sat Nov 26

Lab 8 Regression

Week 10

Mon Nov 28

LEC 26 Residuals and Inference

CIT 15.5-16.3

DIS 10 Regression

Tue Nov 29

PROJ Final Project

Wed Nov 30

LEC 26 Review

Fri Dec 2

LEC 27 Review and Conclusion

Sat Dec 3

Exam Final Exam (11:30AM-2:30PM)