Skip to main content Link Search Menu Expand Document (external link)

Principles of Data Science

DSC 10, Spring 2024 at UC San Diego

Janine Tiefenbruck
she/her

jlobue@ucsd.edu

Lecture(s): MWF 9-9:50AM (A), 10-10:50AM (B), 11-11:50AM (C) Solis 104

Jump to the current week

Week 1 – Python Basics

Mon Apr 1

LEC 1 Introduction ✏️

CIT 1.0-1.3

Keywords: data science, course structure, policies, syllabus, Little Women demo

SUR Welcome Survey

Wed Apr 3

LEC 2 Expressions and Data Types ✏️

BPD 1-6

Keywords: Jupyter notebooks, expressions, variables, assignment, functions, int, float

DISC 1 Getting Started with Jupyter Notebooks

Fri Apr 5

LEC 3 Strings, Lists, and Arrays ✏️

BPD 7-8, CIT 14.1

Keywords: string methods, mean, median, lists, arrays, array arithmetic

Sat Apr 6

LAB 0 Expressions and Data Types

Week 2 – DataFrames

Mon Apr 8

LEC 4 Arrays and DataFrames ✏️

BPD 9

Keywords: array methods, np.arange, .read_csv, .get, .assign, .sort_values, .iloc, .loc, index

Tue Apr 9

LAB 1 Arrays and DataFrames

Wed Apr 10

LEC 5 Querying and Grouping ✏️

BPD 10-11

Keywords: .set_index, Booleans, querying, .shape, &, |, .take, .groupby, aggregation

DISC 2 Arrays and DataFrames

Fri Apr 12

LEC 6 Grouping and Data Visualization ✏️

CIT 7.0-7.1

Keywords: .groupby, numerical vs. categorical, scatter plot, line plot, bar chart

QUIZ 1 Quiz 1 covers Lectures 1-4 (including Example 4, covered in Lecture 5)

Week 3 – Data Visualization and Functions

Mon Apr 15

LEC 7 Distributions and Histograms ✏️

CIT 7.2-7.3

Keywords: distributions, density histograms, binning, total area, overlaid plots

Tue Apr 16

HW 1 Basic Python, Arrays, and DataFrames

Wed Apr 17

LEC 8 Functions and Applying ✏️

BPD 6, 12

Keywords: functions, arguments, print vs. return, .apply, .reset_index

DISC 3 Querying, Grouping, and Plotting

Thu Apr 18

LAB 2 Data Visualizations and Python Functions

Fri Apr 19

LEC 9 Grouping on Multiple Columns, Merging ✏️

BPD 11, 13

Keywords: .groupby([col_1, col_2, …]), subgroups, MultiIndex, .merge, number of rows

Week 4 – Control Flow and Probability

Mon Apr 22

LEC 10 Conditional Statements and Iteration ✏️

CIT 9.0-9.2

Keywords: in, not, and, or, if, else, elif, for-loops, np.append, accumulator pattern

Tue Apr 23

HW 2 DataFrames, Data Visualization, and Functions

Wed Apr 24

LEC 11 Probabilityblank, 9am, 10am, 11am

CIT 9.5

Keywords: event, conditional prob., multiplication and addition rules, independence

DISC 4 Functions, DataFrames, and Control Flow

Thu Apr 25

LAB 3 DataFrames, Control Flow, and Probability

Fri Apr 26

LEC 12 Simulation ✏️

CIT 9.3-9.4

Keywords: np.random.choice, replacement, np.count_nonzero, coin flipping, Monty Hall

QUIZ 2 Quiz 2 covers Lectures 5-9

Week 5 – Simulation, Sampling, and Confidence Intervals

Mon Apr 29

LEC 13 Distributions and Sampling ✏️

CIT 10.0-10.4

Keywords: probability vs. empirical distribution, SRS, .sample, parameter, statistic

Tue Apr 30

HW 3 DataFrames, Control Flow, and Probability

SUR Mid-Quarter Survey

Wed May 1

LEC 14 Midterm Review9am, 10am, 11am

DISC 5 Probability and Simulation

Fri May 3

EXAM Midterm Exam covers Lectures 1-12

Week 6 – Bootstrapping and the Normal Distribution

Mon May 6

LEC 15 Bootstrapping and Confidence Intervals ✏️ Watch! 🎥

CIT 13.0-13.2

Keywords: inference, bootstrapping, resample, np.percentile, confidence interval

Wed May 8

LEC 16 Confidence Intervals, Center, and Spread ✏️

CIT 13.3-13.4

Keywords: interpreting CIs, robust vs. sensitive, center, standard deviation, Chebyshev

DISC 6 Sampling, Bootstrapping, and Confidence Intervals

PROJ Midterm Project

Thu May 9

LAB 4 Simulation, Sampling, and Bootstrapping

Fri May 10

LEC 17 Standardization and the Normal Distribution ✏️

CIT 14.2-14.3

Keywords: Chebyshev, standard units, normal distribution, CDF, inflection points

Week 7 – Central Limit Theorem

Mon May 13

LEC 18 The Central Limit Theorem ✏️

CIT 14.4-14.5

Keywords: distribution of the sample mean, square root law, CLT-based CIs

Tue May 14

HW 4 Simulation, Sampling, and Bootstrapping

Wed May 15

LEC 19 Choosing Sample Sizes, Statistical Models ✏️

CIT 14.6, 11.1

Keywords: standard deviation of 0s and 1s, np.random.multinomial, Robert Swain jury

DISC 7 Standardization and the Normal Distribution

Thu May 16

LAB 5 Variability and the Normal Distribution

Fri May 17

LEC 20 Hypothesis Testing ✏️

CIT 11.3

Keywords: null and alternative hypotheses, test statistic, fair or unfair coin

QUIZ 3 Quiz 3 covers Lectures 13, 15, 16

Week 8 – Hypothesis and Permutation Testing

Mon May 20

LEC 21 Hypothesis Testing and Total Variation Distance ✏️

CIT 11.2, 11.4

Keywords: fair or unfair coin, p-value, midterm exam scores, Alameda County jury, TVD

Tue May 21

HW 5 The Normal Distribution and the Central Limit Theorem

Wed May 22

LEC 22 TVD, Hypothesis Testing, and Permutation Testing

CIT 12.0-12.1

Keywords: confidence intervals for hypothesis testing, body temperature, smoking/babies

DISC 8 The Central Limit Theorem and Hypothesis Testing

Thu May 23

LAB 6 Hypothesis Testing

Fri May 24

LEC 23 Permutation Testing

CIT 12.3

Keywords: smoking/babies, np.random.permutation, shuffling, Deflategate

QUIZ 4 Quiz 4 covers Lectures 17-19

Week 9 – Prediction

Mon May 27

No Lecture (Memorial Day)

Tue May 28

HW 6 Hypothesis Testing and Permutation Testing

Wed May 29

LEC 24 Correlation

CIT 15.0-15.2

Keywords: association, correlation coefficient (r), predicting heights, regression line (su)

DISC 9 Total Variation Distance and Permutation Testing

Fri May 31

LEC 25 Regression and Least Squares

CIT 15.2-15.4

Keywords: regression line in original units, outliers, errors, RMSE, best fit, least squares

QUIZ 5 Quiz 5 covers Lectures 20-23

Week 10 – Review

Mon Jun 3

LEC 26 Residuals and Inference

CIT 15.5-16.3

Keywords: residuals, residual plots, patterns, datasaurus dozen, prediction intervals

Tue Jun 4

PROJ Final Project

Wed Jun 5

LEC 27 Review

DISC 10 Regression

Thu Jun 6

LAB 7 Regression

Fri Jun 7

LEC 28 Review, Conclusion

Sat Jun 8

EXAM Final Exam (7-10PM)

SUR SETs and End-of-Quarter Survey (due 8AM)