Link Search Menu Expand Document

Principles of Data Science 📊

DSC 10, Summer 2022 at UC San Diego

👋 Welcome! Please start by reading this website, especially the syllabus and the schedule below.

Sam Lau

Sam Lau

he/him

lau@ucsd.edu

Zoom Link for Remote Office Hours Podcast Recordings

Week 2

Mon Jul 4

July 4 Holiday

Tue Jul 5

HW 1 Causality and Basic Python

Wed Jul 6

LEC 4 Arrays

Notes 7-8

Fri Jul 8

LEC 5 DataFrames: Accessing, Sorting, and Querying

Notes 9-10

Week 5

Mon Jul 25

LEC 12 Probability (blank pdf) (annotated pdf)

Note 18

Tue Jul 26

Lab 4 DataFrames, Control Flow, and Probability

Wed Jul 27

LEC 13 Simulation

Note 18

Fri Jul 29

Exam Midterm Exam (handout) (blank) (sol)

Sat Jul 30

HW 4 DataFrames, Control Flow, and Probability

Week 6

Mon Aug 1

LEC 14 Distributions and Sampling

Notes 19-20

Wed Aug 3

LEC 15 Hypothesis Testing

Note 21

Fri Aug 5

LEC 16 Hypothesis Testing, Continued (blank) (complete)

Note 21

Sat Aug 6

PROJ Midterm Project

Week 7

Mon Aug 8

LEC 17 Permutation Testing (blank) (complete)

Note 22

Tue Aug 9

Lab 5 Simulation, Sampling, and Hypothesis Testing

Wed Aug 10

LEC 18 Causality, Bootstrapping

Note 23

Fri Aug 12

LEC 19 Percentiles and Confidence Intervals

Notes 24-25

Sat Aug 13

HW 5 Simulation, Sampling, and Hypothesis Testing

Week 8

Mon Aug 15

LEC 20 Confidence Intervals, Center and Spread

CIT 14.1-14.2

Tue Aug 16

Lab 6 Resampling and the Bootstrap

Wed Aug 17

LEC 21 Normal Curve

CIT 14.3-14.4

Fri Aug 19

LEC 22 Central Limit Theorem

CIT 14.4-14.5

Sat Aug 20

HW 6 Permutation Testing, Percentiles, and Bootstrapping

Week 9

Mon Aug 22

LEC 23 Experiment Design

CIT 14.6

Tue Aug 23

Lab 7 Center, Spread, and the Normal Distribution

Wed Aug 24

LEC 24 Prediction and Correlation

CIT 15.1-15.2

Fri Aug 26

LEC 25 Regression and Least Squares

CIT 15.2-15.3

Sat Aug 27

HW 7 Confidence Intervals, Normal Distributions, and the CLT

Week 10

Mon Aug 29

LEC 26 Residuals and Inference

Tue Aug 30

Lab 8 Regression

Wed Aug 31

LEC 27 Review

PROJ Final Project

Fri Sep 2

LEC 28 Review, Conclusion

Sat Sep 3

Exam Final Exam (11:30am-2:30pm)